The Active Kid becomes an Active Adult

by James Yount

Physical activity has always been a big part of my life. I was an energetic kid and I was lucky enough to be able to channel that energy into sports at an early age. I started swimming when I was five at a day camp near my home, and I’ve been competing in water and on land ever since. In high school, I was an All-American swimmer, and when I was a sophomore in college, I held the national record for the 200-yard freestyle. I continue to stay active; I find that physical activity is also a great form of entertainment. I’ve run at the beach in California and around the Central Park Reservoir in Manhattan, and I’ve been lifting free weights since right after college. The activity helps me to stay in shape for the things I really love to do: rock climbing, hiking, and paddle boarding. Not only does rock climbing take my mind away from the bustle of daily life, it also releases stress. When I climb, I have no choice but to focus on the six-foot square in front of me. It’s a great break for me. Although I love my job, I need to spend time doing other things in order to perform my best. I imagine I will continue to be just as active in later life as I have been since I was five years old. It’s a big part of who I am, and it will continue to play a role for many years to come.

Tagged , , , ,
